Skip to Content

Officers & Council Members

APSA is guided in its activities by its bylaws and governed by an elected 31-person council, with the Council-appointed Executive Director serving as a non-voting ex-officio member.

President (2018-2019)

  • Rogers Smith, University of Pennsylvania

President-Elect (2018-2019)

  • Paula McClain, Duke University

Past-President (2018-2019)

  • Kathleen Thelen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Vice Presidents (2018-2019)

  • Cathy J. Cohen, University of Chicago
  • Lisa L. Martin, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Dvora Yanow, Wageningen University

Treasurer (2017-2020)

  • Thomas Pepinsky, Cornell University

Council (2016 - 2019)

  • Matt Barreto, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Mark Crescenzi, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Omar Encarnación, Bard College
  • Kristian Gleditsch, University of Essex
  • Juliet Hooker, Brown University
  • Colleen Shogan, Library of Congress
  • Renée Van Vechten, University of Redlands
  • Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame

Council (2017 - 2020)

  • Joseph Carens, University of Toronto
  • Lisa Garcia-Bedolla, University of California, Berkeley
  • Lilly J. Goren, Carrol University
  • Simon Jackman, University of Sydney
  • Matthew Kocher, Johns Hopkins University
  • Erin Richards, Cascadia College
  • Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, Purdue University
  • Laura Sjoberg, University of Florida

Council (2018 - 2021)

  • Adam Berinsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Ann O’M. Bowman, Texas A&M University
  • Julia Jordan-Zachery, Providence College
  • Lori Marso, Union College
  • Alberto Simpser, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México
  • Charles Smith, University of California, Irvine
  • Rocio Titiunik, University of Michigan
  • Lisa Wedeen, University of Chicago

Executive Director

  • Steven Rathgeb Smith
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up