Skip to Content
Home » ABOUT » Governance » Committees » Nominating Committee

APSA Nominating Committee

In accordance with the APSA bylaws, the APSA Nominating Committee prepares a slate of nominees for APSA Council and officer positions. In selecting a slate of nominees, the Nominating Committee makes recommendations with due regard for geographic distribution, field of professional interest, methodological orientation, types of institutions where members are employed, race, ethnicity, gender and gender identity, sexuality, disability, and other important forms of diversity, as required by the bylaws (V.3.b).

The 2017-2018 nominating committee was Jennifer Merolla, University of California, Riverside (chair), Scott Gehlbach, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Jennifer Pitts, University of Chicago, Lee Ann Fujii, University of Toronto, Alfred Montero, Carleton College, and Todd Shaw, University of South Carolina.

The committee met in February 2018 to compile a slate of candidates. The completed slate of nominees is available for your review here.  Find more information on the APSA election process here.

Recommendations for APSA Standing and Award Committee Members
APSA president-elect Rogers Smith also welcomes suggestions for members of APSA committees, including APSA status committees, for terms starting in September of 2018. Typically, members of the standing committees serve staggered three-year terms, and members of the awards committees serve one-year terms. Click these links for a full list of standing committees and award committees. Please send all suggestions to [email protected]

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up