American Political Science Association Information Technology and Politics



Board Members


APSA Panels

Conference Papers



Research Database


Join or Renew Membership

Affilated with the

Journal of Information Technology and Politics

Journal of E-Government

Photo of the Lincoln Memorial by Lindsey Downs, courtesy of the Smithsonian Institution

Information Technology and Politics Section Awards

Click here to nominate candidates for section awards. Click on a name to go to the web site for the award winner.

Best Article

  • 2009 Matthew A. Baum and Tim Groeling, "New Media and the Polarization of American Political Discourse," Political Communications, 25 (October 2008): 345-365.
  • 2008 Lynne Rienner Publishers Award to Dhavan V. Shah, Jaeho Cho, Seungahn Nah, Melissa R. Gotlieb, Hyunseo Hwang, Nam-Jim Lee, Rosanne M. Scholl, and Douglas M. McLeod "Campaign Ads, Online Messaging, and Participation: Extending the Communication Mediation Model," Journal of Communication 57 (2007): 676–703.
  • 2008 Honorable Mention to R. Charli Carpenter, "Studying Issue (Non)-Adoption in Transnational Advocacy Networks," International Organization 61 (Summer 2007): 643–67
  • 2006 Matthew Hindman, "The Real Lessons of Howard Dean: Reflections on the First Digital Campaign." Perspectives on Politics 3 (March 2005):121-128.
  • 2005 Kenneth Rogerson, "Talking Past Each Other: International Organization Internet Policy in the Developing World," International Politics 41 (June 2004): 176 - 195.

Best Graduate Student Paper

  • 2006 Jennifer L. Bussell, University of California, Berkeley "International Norms on ICTs for Development: New Data, Initial Findings and Opportunities for Analysis"
  • 2005 Kathleen McNutt, Simon Fraser University, "The Canadian Virtual State: E-Government Policy and Progress."

Best Instructional Political Science Website

Best Professional Political Science Website

Best Instructional Software

  • 2009 Micah Altman and Michael P. McDonald, BARD: Better Automated Redistricting
  • 2000 Michael Corbett, Ball State University, Poli-Tutor
  • 1999 Jerry Goldman, Northwestern University, The Supreme Court’s Greatest Hits
  • 1998 David Smetters, MicroCase Corporation, Explorit
  • 1997 Kent Portney, Tufts University and Jerry Goldman, Northwestern University, Crime and Punishment
  • 1995 G. David Garson, North Carolina State University, American Government Simulations
  • 1994 Marc A. Triebwasser, Central Connecticut State University, The American Government Interactive Videodisc
  • 1992 co-winners
    Michael Rich and Jack Combs, Brown University, STATMASTER: A Computer Guide to Interpreting SPSS
    Dennis Hartman, Kenneth Janda and Jerry Goldman, Northwestern University, IDEAlog: A Computer Program for Analyzing Political Values
  • 1991 Bahram Farzanegan, University of North Carolina at Asheville, INS4

Best Research Software

Best Software (Research or Instructional)

  • 1990 Philip Schrodt, University of Kansas

Copyright, Information Technology and Politics Section, APSA
CONTACT: Priscilla M. Regan, President, Information Technology & Politics Section, APSA
Department of Public and International Affairs, George Mason University, MSN 3F4, Fairfax, VA 22030
PHONE: 703-993-1419 - FAX: 803-993-1399 - E-MAIL: