Organized Section: 13. Urban Politics

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices. More on organized sections »

The purpose of the Section is to promote interest in teaching and research in urban politics and policy. The Section seeks to encourage communication among individuals interested in Urban Politics within the Association and within related disciples.

Founded: 1986

Yearly membership dues: $18.00 for students and $28.00 for other members. Subscription to Urban Affairs Review included with membership.


Public Discussion List:  APSA Connect discussion

Journal: Urban Affairs Review

Section Officers


Melissa Marschall
Rice University

Chair Elect

Jessica Trounstine
University of California, Merced


Annette Steinacker
Loyola University, Chicago


Annette Steinacker
Loyola University, Chicago

Journal Editor

Urban Affairs Review
Peter Burns
Loyola University, New Orleans
Urban Affairs Review
Jered Carr
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Urban Affairs Review
Annette Steinacker
Loyola University, Chicago
Urban Affairs Review
Antonio Tavares
Universidade do Minho

2014 Annual Meeting Program Chair

Adrienne Smith
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Todd Shaw
University of South Carolina


Term: 09/2013-08/2014
Andrea Benjamin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Ken Bickers, University of Colorado, Boulder
Dorothy Daley, University of Kansas
Paul Lewis, Arizona State University
Zoltan Hajnal, University of California, San Diego
Juliet Musso, University of Southern California
Sarah Reckhow, Michigan State University
Paru Shah, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Timothy Krebs, University of New Mexico
Betsy Sinclair, University of Chicago
Adrienne Smith, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Kelly LeRoux, University of Illinois, Chicago
Thad Williamson, University of Richmond

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 13. Urban Politics awards to-date »

Best Book Award

The Best Book Award recognizes the best book on urban politics published in the previous year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: A hard copy of the nominated book should be sent to: Dr. Elisabeth Muhlenberg, 615 South Kenilworth Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60304

Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2014

Award Committee

Jeffrey Berry, Chair
Tufts University
Elisabeth Muhlenberg
University of Illinois, Chicago
Thomas Ogorzalek
Northwestern University

Best Dissertation Award

The Best Dissertation Award is given annually for the best dissertation on urban politics accepted in the previous year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Hard copies (or electronic, if preferred by committee members) of dissertations completed and approved in 2013 should be to each committee member by March 15, 2014.

Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2014

Award Committee

Quinton Mayne, Chair
Harvard University
Harvard Kennedy School
79 JFK St, Mailbox 74
Cambridge  MA   02138
Sarah Anzia
Stanford University
University of California, Berkeley
Goldman School of Public Policy
2607 Hearst Avenue
Berkeley  CA   94720
Yue Zhang
University of Illinois, Chicago
University of Illinois - Chicago
Political Science
1007 West Harrison, 1134 BSB
M/C 276
Chicago  IL   60607-7137

Byran Jackson Dissertation Research on Minority Politics Award

The Byran Jackson Award recognizes the outstanding scholarship by a graduate student in the area of race and urban politics.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Hard copies (or electronic, if preferred by committee member) of approved dissertation proposals should be sent to each committee member by March 15, 2014.

Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2014

Award Committee

Jamila Michener, Chair
Cornell University
123 Central Ave
White Hall (305)
Ithaca  NY   14853
Christina Greer
Fordham University
Political Science
113 W 60th St-9th Fl
New York  NY   10023
Ravi Perry
Mississippi State University
Political Science and Public Administration
105 Bowen Hall - Mail Stop 9561
Mississippi State  MS   39762-6003

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award is given for the best paper given at an Urban Politics Section panel at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2014

Award Committee

Alison Post, Chair
University of California, Berkeley
Carlos Cuellar
Rice University
Emily Farris
Texas Christian University

Norton Long Career Achievement Award

The Norton Long Career Achievement Award is presented annually to a scholar who has made distinguished contributions to the study of urban politics over the course of a career through scholarly publication, the mentoring of students, and public service

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Nominations and two (2) supporting letters submitted to all committee members by March 15, 2014.

Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2014

Award Committee

Karen Kaufmann, Chair
University of Maryland, College Park
Judith Garber
University of Alberta
Megan Mullin

Norton Long Young Scholars

The Norton Long Young Scholars award is given to scholars who are completing or have completed their Ph.D. within the last three years and submitted a paper proposal for the 2014 APSA meetings to the 2014 program chairs.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Please send the appropriate proposals to the panel chairs and designate that you are eligible for the Norton Long Young Scholars Award. The panel chairs should forward these proposals to the 2013-2014 Program Chairs for final selection.

Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2014

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus