Organized Section: 40. Canadian Politics

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices. More on organized sections »

The purpose of this section is to promote the interest in Canadian Politics, to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and information related to Canadian Politics and to encourage the cumulation of knowledge about Canadian Politics.

Founded: 2009

Yearly membership dues: $8.00 for students and $8.00 for other members.


Public Discussion List:  APSA Connect discussion

Section Officers


D. Eagles
SUNY, University at Buffalo

Vice Chair

Donley Studlar
University of Strathclyde


Ross Burkhart
Boise State University

2014 Annual Meeting Program Chair

James Farney
University of Regina


Term: 09/2013-08/2015
Eric Belanger, McGill University
Cheryl Collier, University of Windsor
David Lublin, American University

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 40. Canadian Politics awards to-date »

Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award

The Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes scholarship and leadership in bringing the study of Canadian Politics to the international political science community.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2014

Award Committee

Michael Martinez, Chair
University of Florida
David Biette
Canada Institute
Mildred Schwartz
New York University
Melissa Haussman
Carleton University
Eric Uslaner
University of Maryland, College Park

Seymour Martin Lipset Best Book Award

The Seymour Martin Lipset Best Book Award is given to honor a significant contemporary contribution to the scholarship on Canadian politics, or Canada in a comparative perspective, or a comparative analysis of Canada with other countries, particularly the United States.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2014

Award Committee

James McHugh, Chair
University of Akron
Political Science
Olin Hall, Room 201
Akron  OH   44325-1904
Jeffrey Ayres
Saint Michael's College
Political Science
One Winooski Park, Box 362
Colchester  VT   05439
Candace Johnson
University of Guelph
Political Science
Mackinnon Bldg.
Guelph  N1G 2W1
Karen Jusko
Stanford University
Political Science
Encina Hall West, Rm 441C
Palo Alto  CA   94305-6044
minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus