Membership

Organized Section: 09. Presidents and Executive Politics

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices. More on organized sections »

Presidents & Executive Politics (PEP) of APSA is the premier association of scholars devoted to the study of the presidency and executives (formerly known as the Presidency Research Group). To that end, it welcomes diverse theoretical perspectives, analytical techniques, and data sources as they contribute to the advancement of scholarship and teaching. It also invites the contributions and perspectives of other disciplines. PEP values the establishment and enhancement of non-partisan links between scholarship, the real world of presidential and executive politics, and public policy.

Founded: 1985

Yearly membership dues: $10.00 for students and $10.00 for other members.

Website: http://community.apsanet.org/pep/Home/

Public Discussion List:  APSA Connect PEP Discussion Board (Members Only)

Newsletter: PEP Report

Section Officers

President

Steven Schier
Carleton College
sschier@carleton.edu

President Elect

B. Wood
Texas A&M University
bdanwood@polisci.tamu.edu

Vice President

B. Wood
Texas A&M University
bdanwood@polisci.tamu.edu

Secretary

Brandice Canes-Wrone
Princeton University
bcwrone@princeton.edu

Treasurer

Brandice Canes-Wrone
Princeton University
bcwrone@princeton.edu

Webmaster

Jose Villalobos
University of Texas at El Paso
jdvillalobos2@utep.edu

Council

Term: 09/2013-08/2014
Julia Azari, Marquette University
Colleen Shogan, Congressional Research Service
David Lewis, Vanderbilt University
Janet Martin, Bowdoin College
Justin Vaughn, Boise State University
Board Member Term: 09/2012-08/2015
MaryAnne Borrelli, Connecticut College
Brendan Doherty, U.S. Naval Academy
Thomas Langston, Tulane University
Jose Villalobos, University of Texas at El Paso
Board Member Term: 09/2011-08/2014
Lara Brown, George Washington University
Karen Hult, Virginia Tech
Graduate Student Representative Term: 09/2011-08/2014
Matthew Miles, Brigham Young University, Idaho
Board Member Term: 09/2011-08/2014
Daniel Ponder, Drury University
Wayne Steger, DePaul University

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 09. Presidents and Executive Politics awards to-date »

George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award

The George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award is given annually for the best dissertation in presidency research completed and accepted during the calendar year prior to the Annual Meeting. The recipient will receive a $250 award.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: To be considered for the award, nominees must submit the following documents to each member of the Award Committee: (1) a hard copy of the dissertation, (2) an electronic version of the dissertation (preferably in pdf), and (3) a letter of nomination (from, e.g., the dissertation chair, the department chair).

Deadline for nominations: February 1, 2014

Award Committee

George Krause, Chair
University of Pittsburgh
Political Science
4442 Wesley W. Posvar Hall
230 South Bouquet St
Pittsburgh  PA   15260
gkrause@pitt.edu
Tim Johnson
Willamette University
School of Management
900 State St
Salem  OR   97301
tjohnson@willamette.edu
Shirley Warshaw
Gettysburg College
Political Science
300 N. Washington St
Gettysburg  PA   17325
swarshaw@gettysburg.edu
John Woolley
University of California, Santa Barbara
Political Science
Mail Code 9420
Santa Barbara  CA   93106-9420
woolley@polsci.ucsb.edu

Best Undergraduate Paper Award

The Best Undergraduate Paper Award on executive politics recognizes the best undergraduate paper completed in the previous two academic years. One copy of each essay should be sent directly to each committee member of the committee.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: June 1, 2014

Award Committee

Brandon Rottinghaus, Chair
University of Houston
bjrottinghaus@uh.edu
Julia Azari
Marquette University
Julia.Azari@Marquette.edu
Bruce Buchanan
University of Texas, Austin
Bruceb@Austin.utexas.edu
Kevin McMahon
Trinity College
kevin.mcmahon.1@trincoll.edu

Founders Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The Founders Award honoring David Naveh is given for the best paper on executive politics presented by a Graduate Student at either the preceding year’s APSA Annual Meeting or at any of the regional meetings in the two year’s preceding the APSA Annual Meeting. One copy of each essay should be sent directly to each member of the committee.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: May 1, 2014

Award Committee

David Lewis, Chair
Vanderbilt University
david.e.lewis@vanderbilt.edu
Matthew Beckmann
University of California, Irvine
beckmann@uci.edu
Daniel Galvin
Northwestern University
galvin@northwestern.edu
Patricia Sykes
American University
psykes@american.edu

Founders Best Paper Award

The Founders Award honoring Martha Joynt Kumar is given for the best paper on executive politics authored by a PhD holding scholar presented at the previous year’s annual meeting. One copy of each essay should be sent directly to each committee member.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 1, 2014

Award Committee

Douglas Kriner, Chair
Boston University
dkriner@bu.edu
Jasmine Farrier
University of Louisville
j.farrier@louisville.edu
Sharece Thrower
University of Pittsburgh
sthrower@pitt.edu
Brian Newman
Pepperdine University
brian.newman@pepperdine.edu

Richard E. Neustadt Best Reference Book Award

The Richard E. Neustadt Best Reference Book Award recognizes the best reference book on executive politics published during the past four years. One copy of each book should be sent directly to each member of the committee.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 1, 2014

Award Committee

George Edwards, Chair
Texas A&M University
Texas A&M University, College Station
Political Science
2074 Allen Bldg
4348 TAMU
College Station  TX   77843-4348
gedwards@tamu.edu
Colleen Shogan
Congressional Research Service
Office of the Director
The Library of Congress
101 Independent Ave SE
Washington  DC   20540-7500
cshogan@crs.loc.gov
Terry Sullivan
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Political Science
CB#3265 Hamilton Hall
Chapel Hill  NC   27599-3265
sullivan@ibiblio.org

Richard E. Neustadt Best Book Award

The Richard E. Neustadt Award given for the best book on executive politics published during the year. One copy of each book should be sent directly to each member of the committee.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 1, 2014

Award Committee

Andrew Rudalevige, Chair
Bowdoin College
Government & Legal Studies
9800 College Station
Brunswick  ME   04011
arudalev@bowdoin.edu
Bert Rockman
Purdue University
Political Science
2216B Beering Hall
100 N. University St
West Lafayette  IN   47907-2098
barockma@purdue.edu
Karen Hult
Virginia Tech
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
center for Public Administration & Policy
104 draper Road
Mail Code 0520
Blacksburg  VA   24061
khult@vt.edu
Mark Peterson
University of California, Los Angeles
UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs
3250 Public Affairs Bldg
Los Angeles  CA   90095-1656
markap@ucla.edu
Roderick Hart
University of Texas, Austin
Communication/Government
300 W. Dean Keeton A0900
Austin  TX   78712
rod.hart@austin.utexas.edu
minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus