Membership

Organized Section: 22. State Politics and Policy

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices. More on organized sections »

The purpose to this section is to further our understanding of the American states including their institutions, political actors, policies, and local, national, and international influence.

Founded: 1989

Yearly membership dues: $27.00 for students and $27.00 for other members.

Website: http://politicalscience.olemiss.edu/state-politics-and-policy/

Public Discussion List:  APSA Connect discussion

Journal: State Politics and Policy Quarterly

Newsletter: State Politics and Policy Section Newsletter

Section Officers

Chair

Daniel Smith
University of Florida
dasmith@ufl.edu

Secretary

Margaret Ferguson
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
mferguso@iu.edu

Treasurer

Margaret Ferguson
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
mferguso@iu.edu

Communications Director

Shannon Jenkins
University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
sjenkins@umassd.edu

Webmaster

Jonathan Winburn
University of Mississippi
jwinburn@olemiss.edu

Journal Editor

State Politics and Policy Quarterly
Thomas Carsey
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
carsey@unc.edu

Newsletter Editor

State Politics and Policy Section Newsletter
Shannon Jenkins
University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
sjenkins@umassd.edu

2014 Annual Meeting Program Chair

Jennifer Wolak
University of Colorado, Boulder
Jennifer.Wolak@colorado.edu

Council

Term: 09/2013-08/2014
Brent Boyea, University of Texas, Arlington
James Monogan, University of Georgia
Garrick Percival, San Jose State University
Janine Parry, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Justin Phillips, Columbia University
Belinda Davis, Louisiana State University

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 22. State Politics and Policy awards to-date »

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award for the best paper on state politics and policy presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Marjorie Sarbaugh-Thompson, Chair
Wayne State University
mst@wayne.edu
Donald Haider-Markel
University of Kansas
dhmarkel@ku.edu
Julianna Pacheco
University of Iowa
julianna-pacheco@uiowa.edu

Best Journal Article Award

The award recognizes the best journal article on U.S. state politics or policy published during the previous calendar year in any peer-reviewed journal (book reviews, review essays, and chapters published in edited volumes are not eligible).

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Nominations must come from a section member. The Award consists of a $250 cash prize and a plaque recognizing the author(s).

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Janine Parry, Chair
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
parry@uark.edu
Andrew Karch
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
ajkarch@umn.edu
Thad Kousser
University of California, San Diego
tkousser@ucsd.edu

Career Achievement Award

The Career Achievement Award given every biennium to a political scientist who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the study of politics and public policies in the American states.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Caroline Tolbert, Chair
University of Iowa
caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu
Charles Barrilleaux
Florida State University
cbarrilleaux@fsu.edu
Kerry Haynie
Duke University
klhaynie@duke.edu
Beth Reingold
Emory University
polbr@emory.edu

Christopher Mooney Dissertation Award

This award is given for the best dissertation in american state politics and policy completed during the previous calendar year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Consideration for the award requires a letter of nomination from the Dissertation Chair (or other member of a dissertation committee) and an electronic copy of the full dissertation, including a completed signature page from the dissertation defense or other official university documentation to verify that the dissertation was successfully defended between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year.

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Richard Winters, Chair
Dartmouth College
rfw@dartmouth.edu
Daniel Biggers
Yale University
daniel.biggers@yale.edu
Boris Shor
University of California-Berkeley
boris@bshor.com

Mac Jewell Enduring Contribution Book Award

To be awarded every three years to a political science book on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy published at least 10 years prior to the award being bestowed that stands as an enduring contribution to the literature. Such books would be those classic works frequently assigned in graduate seminars, typically found on the bookshelves of state politics scholars, and that have been crucial in setting the direction of scholarship the field since their publication.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: The goal of the award is to recognize, reward, and encourage excellence in political science scholarship on state politics and policy. The award consists of a plaque commemorating the award and a $750 prize.

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Melanie Springer, Chair
University of California, Santa Cruz
mjs@ucsc.edu
Virginia Gray
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
vagray@email.unc.edu
Christopher Mooney
University of Illinois, Springfield
cmoon1@uilinois.edu

State Politics and Policy Quarterly (SPPQ) Best Paper Award

The State Politics and Policy Award is given for the best paper on state politics and policy presented at any professional meeting in the previous calendar year.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Karen Mossberger, Chair
Arizona State University
karen.mossberger@asu.edu
Jason Casellas
University of Houston
Jpcasell@gmail.com
William Franko
Auburn University
wwf0001@auburn.edu

Virginia Gray Best Book Award

To be awarded annually to the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years. Thus, books would be eligible to be considered for the award for three years. E.g., for the 2014 award, books published in 2011-13 would be eligible for nomination.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: The goal of the award is to recognize, reward, and encourage excellence in political science scholarship on state politics and policy. The award consists of a plaque commemorating the award and a $250 prize.

Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2014

Award Committee

Robert Erikson, Chair
Columbia University
rse14@columbia.edu
Jay Barth
Hendrix College
barth@hendrix.edu
Elizabeth Rigby
George Washington University
erigby@gwu.edu
minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus