Skip to Content

Political Psychology (Section 28)

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices. More on organized sections»

The purpose of this section to facilitate communication across subfields and disciplinary boundaries among individuals interested in the relationship between political and psychological processes.

Founded: 1993
Yearly membership dues: $5.00 for students and $10.00 for other members.

Section Counts

Section Officers

Cara Wong
University of Illinois at
[email protected]

Chair Elect
Daniel Hopkins
University of Pennsylvania
d[email protected]

Melissa Sands
University of California, Merced
[email protected]

Communications Officer
Keena Lipsitz
Queens College &
The Graduate Center, CUNY
[email protected]

2018 Annual Meeting
Program Chairs
Spencer Piston
Boston University
[email protected]

Alexander Scacco
New York University
[email protected]

Matthew Hibbing, University of California at Merced
Elizabeth Theiss-Morse, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Jennifer Wolak, University of Colorado, Boulder
Cara Wong, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Daniel Hopkins, University of Pennsylvania
Keena Lipsitz, Queens College & 
The Graduate Center, CUNY
Andrea Benjamin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Tali Mendelberg, Princeton Univesity

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 28. Political Psychology awards to-date »

Best Dissertation Award

The Best Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation in political psychology filed during the previous year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Send an electronic copy of the dissertation to each committee member. Self-nominations are accepted. All nominations should include a letter of support from the chair of the dissertation committee that addresses the contribution of the dissertation to the field of political psychology.

Deadline for nominations: TBD

Award Committee:
Michael Tesler
University of California, Irvine
[email protected]

Martin Bisgaard
Aarhus University
[email protected]

Ariel White
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
[email protected]

Robert E. Lane Award

The Robert E. Lane Award for the best book in political psychology published in the past year.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: TBD

Award Committee:
Patrick Egan
New York University
[email protected]

Darren Davis
University of Notre Dame
[email protected]

Amy Lerman
University of California, Berkeley
[email protected]

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award is given to the most outstanding paper in political psychology delivered at the previous year’s Annual Meeting.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: TBD

Award Committee:
Corrine McConnaughy
George Washington University
[email protected]

Peter Dinesen
University of Copenhagen

Christopher Parker
University of Washington
[email protected]

Distinguished Junior Scholar Award

The APSA Political Psychology section gives Distinguished Junior Scholar Awards as grants to junior scholars (graduate students or those no more than seven years since receiving their Ph.D) to help fun their travel to the APSA meeting.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Applicants should send their CV, a one-page single-spaced statement describing their work, and evidence that they have been accepted on the APSA program, either as paper giver or poster-presenter.

Deadline for nominations: TBD

Award Committee:
Rosario Aguilar
Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas (CIDE)
[email protected]

Morris Levy
University of Southern California
[email protected]

LaFleur Stephens-Dougan
Princeton University
lafleu[email protected]

Political Psychology Career Achievement Award

The Political Psychology Career Achievement Award is awarded biennially to recognize a scholar whose lifetime scholarship and service to the profession has made an outstanding contribution to the field of political psychology.

Nomination Instructions: Nominations to the committee should include a statement that describes the scholar’s contribution to the field, as well as the nominee’s vitae (if possible).

Deadline for nominations: TBD

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up