Skip to Content

Women and Politics Research (Section 16)

The purpose of this section is to foster the study of women and politics within the discipline of political science.

Founded: 1986
Yearly membership dues: $16.00 for students and $30.00 for other members. Subscription to Politics and Gender included with membership.
Public Discussion List: APSA Connect discussion
Journal: Politics & Gender
Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Michele Swers
Georgetown University
[email protected]

Christina Ewig
University of Minnesota
[email protected]

President Elect
Shauna Shames
Rutgers University-Camden
[email protected]

Farida Jalalzai
Oklahoma State University
[email protected]

Malliga Och
Idaho State University
[email protected]

Journal Editor
Politics & Gender Mary Caputi
California State University, Long Beach
[email protected]

2017 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Nadia Brown
Purdue University
[email protected]

Magda Hinojosa
Arizona State University
[email protected]

Term: 09/2015-08/2017
Kelly Dittmar, Rutgers University
Kim Fridkin Kahn, Arizona State University

Term: 09/2016-08/2018
Erin Heidt-Forsythe, Pennsylvania State University
Ingrid Bego, Western Carolina University

Term: Term: 09/2016-08/2017 
Graduate Student Representative
Mary Nugent, Rutgers University

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 16. Women and Politics Research awards to-date »

Best Dissertation Prize

The Best Dissertation Prize for the best dissertation on women and politics completed and accepted in the previous year..

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2017

Award Committee:
Rosalyn Cooperman
University of Mary Washington
[email protected]

Christina Xydias
Clarkson University
[email protected]

Melanie Hughes
University of Pittsburgh
[email protected]

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award presented for the best paper presented at the previous year’s annual meeting in the field of women and politics.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: Self-nominations and nominations by others are welcome. To be considered for this award, one copy of the article should be sent electronically to each committee member.

Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2017

Award Committee:
Amy Atchison, Chair
Valparaiso University
[email protected]

Sarah Allen Gershon
Georgia State University
[email protected]

Amy Cabrera Rasmussen
California State University, Long Beach
[email protected]

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory, co-sponsored by Women and Politics, Foundations of Political Theory, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science, commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: All nominations should be sent to the committee chair.

Deadline for Nominations: February 15, 2017

Award Committee:
Kathy Ferguson, Chair
University of Hawaii
[email protected]

Jennet Kirkpatrick
Arizona State University
[email protected]

Sina Jo Kramer
Loyola Marymount University
[email protected]

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up