APSA Distinguished Teaching Award


The Association’s first discipline-wide award for teaching.

The APSA Distinguished Teaching Award honors the outstanding contribution to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The contribution may span several years or an entire career, or it may be a single project of exceptional impact.

View the list of 2014 APSA Awardees

List of all APSA Distinguished Teaching Recipients

The deadline to submit a nomination is February 1, 2015.

2015 Distinguished Teaching Award Committee

Chair: Amy Black
Wheaton College
501 College Ave
Wheaton, IL 60187
[email protected]

Tomas Koontz  
Ohio State University
School of Environment and Natural Resources
210 Kottman Hall 2021 Coffey Rd
Columbus, OH 43210
[email protected]

Michael Leo Owens  
Emory University
1555 Dickey Drive
327 Tarbutton Hall
Atlanta, GA 30322
[email protected]

The award was created on the recommendation of APSA's Teaching and Learning Committee and has been endowed through generous gifts from APSA members.

For more than 100 years the American Political Science Association has sought to recognize excellence across the discipline. This award signals the central role of teaching in the profession.

Kerstin Hamann, University of Central Florida
Dick Simpson, University of Illinois, Chicago


Barbara B. Bardes
Harold F. Bass
John C. Berg
Mitchell Brown
Michelle Deardorff
Mary H. Durfee
Welling Hall
Kim Quaile Hill
Karen M. Hult
John Ishiyama
Tobe Johnson
Jane Y. Junn
Melvin A. Kahn
Gary Klass
David B. Magleby

L. Sandy Maisel
Alison McCartney
Richard G. Niemi
Elinor Ostrom
Carole Pateman
William D. Pederson
Dianne M. Pinderhughes
Philip H. Pollock III
Barbara A. Presnall
Erin E. Richards
Mark Carl Rom
Kay Lehman Schlozman
Theda Skocpol
Rogers Smith
James A. Thurber
Pamela A. Zeiser

Fund Leaders

Elizabeth A. Bennion
Thomas R. Dye
Morris Fiorina
Ole R. Holsti
Kenneth Janda
Calvin C. Jillson
Nancy S. Love
Henry R. Nau
Larry J. Sabato
W. Phillips Shively
Robert J. Spitzer
Susan Welch
James Q. Wilson


donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund the award are always appreciated and help APSA promote teaching in political science. Please take a moment today and contribute to the award fund.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus