April 22, 2009: APSA Announces Participants for 2009 Workshop in Accra, Ghana APSA Press Release

Washington, DC--The American Political Science Association is pleased to announce the roster of participants for the 2009 Africa Workshop on the theme of "Elections and Democracy," offered in partnership with the Institute of African Studies at the University of Ghana, Legon.  Participants were selected after an open international competition and include:

  1. James Arrey Abangma (Cameroon)
  2. Henry Amadi Odongo (Kenya)
  3. Jasper Ayelazuno (Ghana)
  4. Sulaiman Balarabe-Kura (Nigeria) 
  5. Mohammad Bakari (Tanzania)
  6. Maame Gyekye-Jandoh (Ghana)
  7. Victor Adefemi Isumonah (Nigeria)
  8. Edou Mvelle Edou Lubanda (Kenya)
  9. Ziblim Iddi (Ghana)
  10. Henry Kam Kah (Cameroon)
  11. Peter O. Mbah (Nigeria) 
  12. Clive J. Napier (South Africa)
  13. Cornelius Ncube (Zimbabwe)
  14. Nna-Emeka Chibueze Okereke (Nigeria)
  15. Freedom C. Onuoha (Nigeria)
  16. Mashood Omutosho (Nigeria)
  17. El Hassan Ould Ahmed (Mauritania)
  18. Abdoul Karim Saidou (Niger)
  19. Bertrand Tchantcho (Cameroon)
  20. Sita Zougouri (Burkina Faso)

Four U.S.-based graduate students were also selected to participate:

  1. Keith Weghorst (University of Florida)
  2. Jaimie Bleck (Cornell University)
  3. Kristin Michelitch (NYU)
  4. Sybille Ngo Nyeck (UCLA)

The dates of the 2009 workshop are June 21-July 10; additional information can be found at the project website, www.apsanet.org/africaworkshops. The Africa Workshops are supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

# # #

The American Political Science Association (est. 1903) is the leading professional organization for the study of politics and has over 14,000 members in 80 countries. For more news and information about political science research visit the APSA media website, www.politicalsciencenews.org.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus