About APSA
Frank J. Goodnow Award

Nominate now »


picture of Frank GoodnowThe Frank Johnson Goodnow Award was created by the APSA Council in 1996 to honor service to the community of teachers, researchers, and public servants who work in the many fields of politics. Frank J. Goodnow, the first president of the American Political Science Association, a pioneer in the development of judicial politics, and former president of Johns Hopkins University is an exemplar of the public service and volunteerism that this award represents.

Each year the Association solicits nominations from members of the Council, former winners, and APSA members. Nominations are then considered by the Goodnow Committee which will then select a winner. Award winners are recognized at the annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon, held each year as part of the APSA Annual Meeting.

2014 Nomination Information

APSA is seeking nominations for the 2014 Frank J. Goodnow Award. One or more recipients may be selected, and in some years no recipients may be named. Recipients are approved by the APSA Administrative Committee.

The Goodnow Award was designed to recognize distinguished service to the profession and the Association, not necessarily a career of scholarship. This service may be by individuals, groups, and public and private organizations who have played a role in the development of the political science profession and the building of American Political Science Association.

Click on the "Nominate now" button above to submit a nomination and upload a nomination letter. If possible, please also upload a curriculum vitae. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2014.

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of all Goodnow Award recipients


2014 Frank J. Goodnow Award Committee

Chair:  Michelle D. Deardorff
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Political Science, Public Administration and Non-Profit Management
POLS #6356
615 McCallie Avenue
Chattanooga, TN  37403
[email protected]


Virginia Sapiro
Boston University
College of Arts and Sciences
725 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA  02215
[email protected]


C. Danielle Vinson
Furman University
Political Science
3300 Pointsett Hwy
Greenville, SC  29613
[email protected]







minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus