Charles E. Merriam Award

The Charles E. Merriam Award was established by the Association to recognize a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research. First presented in 1975, the award was revived in 1995 and is presented biennially. The award is given biennially and carries a prize of $500.

Charles Merriam's career exemplified a combination of innovative political and social science scholarship and practical service to the community and nation. The department he chaired in the 1920s-1940s set the agenda of the political science profession in the post World War II decades. He was the key figure in the founding of the Social Science Research Council, and chaired it in its first decades. His public service included membership in the Chicago City Council, and President Roosevelt's National Resources Planning Board, and the Committee on Administrative Management.

View the list of 2014 APSA Awardees

List of All Charles E. Merriam Award Recipients


Nomination Information

The deadline to submit a nomination is February 15, 2015.

2015 Award Committee

Chair: Pippa Norris
Harvard University
79 JFK St Cambridge, MA 02138
[email protected]

Larry Dodd
University of Florida
234 Anderson Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
[email protected]

Joan Tronto
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
1414 Social Sciences Bldg 267
19th Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55455 
[email protected]


Gifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Charles Merriam prize are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus