Carey McWilliams Award

The Carey McWilliams Award is given annually to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics. It carries a $750 prize. Eligible candidates must meet the criteria laid forth by the first organizing committee.  The individual chosen:

  • should have a distinguished public service career in newspaper, magazine or broadcast media. 
  • should, in his or her work, illumine some broad general principles of the social and political sciences.
  • may have a background in editorial activities and not necessarily be a working journalist or writer.
  • should illumine certain key elements identified with McWilliams, which include intellectual forthrightness and political independence.

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of All Carey McWilliams Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations was February 1, 2014.

2014 Award Committee

Chair: Diana M. Owen
Georgetown University
Communication, Culture, and Technology
3520 Prospect Street, NW
Suite 311
Washington, DC  20057
[email protected]


Melissa V. Harris-Perry
Tulane University
Political Science
316 Norman Mayer Bldg
New Orleans, LA  70118-5698
[email protected]


Daron R. Shaw
University of Texas
1 University Station
Austin, TX  78712
[email protected]





Gifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Carey McWilliams prize are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement.


minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus