Victoria Schuck Award

The Victoria Schuck Award is given annually for the best book published on women and politics. It carries a prize of $1,000.

Developed to honor Victoria Schuck's life-long commitment to women and politics, this prize recognizes and encourage research and publication in this field. Schuck took her Ph.D. in 1937 from Stanford University and played a leading role in opening doors for women in the profession. She was not only an outstanding mentor for women, but her service in senior administrative roles at Mt Holoyke College and Mount Vernon College opened doors for future generations of women leaders.

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of All Victoria Schuck Award Recipients

Nomination Information

Books may be nominated for more than one prize, should they meet the criteria.

Individuals: Contact the publisher and ask to have a copy of the nominated book sent to each of the committee members listed below. The deadline for individuals to submit nominations was January 15, 2014.

Publishers: Send a copy of the nominated book to each of the committee members listed below. The deadline for publishers to submit nominations was February 15, 2014.

2014 Award Committee

Chair: Susan Bickford
University of North Carolina
Political Science
Hamilton Hall, CB #3265
Chapel Hill, NC  27599-3265
[email protected]


Kathleen Bratton
Louisiana State University
Political Science
240 Stubbs Hall
Baton Rouge, LA  70803
[email protected]


Sarah Wiliarty
Wesleyan University
238 Church Street
PAC 409
Middletown, CT  06459
[email protected]












donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Victoria Schuck Award are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement in political science.


minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus