About APSA
Book Awards

APSA Book Awards

Publishers and individuals are invited to submit nominations for APSA book awards, presented each year at the Association's annual meeting. Detailed information is sent to publishers each fall, including procedures for submission.

To submit a nomination, click on the appropriate award to fill out an electronic nomination form. A copy of each nominated book should be sent to each award committee member, as well as to the APSA office. Should they meet the named criteria, books may be nominated for more than one prize. The deadline for nominations from individuals is January 15 of each year. The deadline for nominations from publishers is February 15 of each year.

Previous Calendar Year:  Many books contain both a publication date and a copyright date, and these may differ. Eligiblity for these awards is deterimined by the earlier of these dates that are actually printed in the book with the publication data in the front (i.e. if a book has a printed copyright date of 2014, that is the date that applies even if it was released in 2013). If it has a date on the publication page indicating it was printed or published in 2013, then that is the date that applies even if the copyright is 2014.

  • Ralph J. Bunche Award For the best scholarly work in political science published in the previous calendar year which explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism. [$1,000]
  • Gladys M. Kammerer Award For the best political science publication in the previous calendar year in the field of U.S. national policy. [$1,000]
  • Victoria Schuck Award For the best book published in the previous calendar year on women and politics. [$1,000]
  • Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award For the best book published in the U.S. during the previous calendar year on government, politics, or international affairs (supported by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation). [$5,000]

Organized Section Book Awards

Many APSA organized section book awards will be presented at the next APSA Annual Meeting. Recipients are generally selected by member committees appointed by the chair or executive committee of the section. The organized section recognize winners at their annual business meetings, which are held in conjunction with the APSA Annual Meeting.  See Organized Section Book Awards.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus