Leo Strauss Award

The Leo Strauss prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the field of political philosophy. It carries a prize of $750.

The Fund was developed by former students of Strauss' who sought to recognize his extraordinary influence on generations of students and his contributions to the field of political philosophy.  He was a major figure in the department of political science at the University of Chicago, where he taught from 1949 to 1967.

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of All Leo Strauss Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations was January 15, 2014.


2014 Award Committee

Chair: Eve Grace
Colorado College
Political Science
14 E. Cache le Poudre
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
[email protected]

Laurence Cooper
Carleton College
Political Science
One North College Street
Northfield, MN  55057
[email protected]

Murray Jardine
Auburn University
Political Science
7080 Haley Center
Auburn, AL  36849-5208
[email protected]





donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Leo Strauss prize are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement in political science.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus