E.E. Schattschneider Award

E. E. SchattschneiderThe E.E. Schattschneider prize is awarded annually for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during that year or the previous year in the field of American government. This award fund was established in 1971. It carries a prize of $750.

This award was set up in honor of Elmer Eric Schattschneider, a former APSA president, and widely published and respected political scientist. 

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of All E.E. Schattschneider Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations was January 15, 2014.

2014 Award Committee

Chair: Jamie L. Carson
University of Georgia
Political Science
355 South Jackson Street
104 Baldwin Hall
Athens, GA  30602-1615
[email protected]


James S.C. Battista
SUNY, University at Buffalo 
Political Science
520 Park Hall
Buffalo, NY  14260
[email protected]


Cheryl Boudreau
University of California
Political Science
469 Kerr Hall
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA  95616-8682
[email protected]




donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the E.E. Schattschneider prize are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus