Edward S. Corwin Award

The Edward S. Corwin prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the field of public law. It carries a prize of $750.

The Corwin award is for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during that year or the previous year in the field of public law, broadly defined to include the judicial process, judicial behavior, judicial biography, courts, law, legal systems, the American constitutional system, civil liberties, or any other substantial area, or any work which deals in a significant fashion with a topic related to or having substantial impact on the American Constitution.

Edward S. Corwin was a former Association president who is nationally known and widely published. He consulted with many other academics as well as politicians involved with constitutional issues, most notably when he publicly supported Franklin D. Roosevelt's Supreme Court reorganization ("court packing") plan.

View the list of 2014 APSA Awardees

List of All Edward S. Corwin Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2015.

2015 Award Committee

Chair: Jonathan Simon 
University of California, Berkeley
Jurisprudence and Social Policy
Berkeley, CA 94720
[email protected]

Sara Benesh
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee, MI 53201
[email protected]

Ronald Kahn
Oberlin College
Rice 216,  10 N Professor St
Oberlin, OH 44074-1095
[email protected] 


donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Edward S. Corwin Award are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement in political science.

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus