William Anderson Award


The William Anderson prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the general field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state and local politics. It carries a prize of $750.

The award was set up in honor of William Anderson, former APSA president, who was a leading American authority in the areas of local government, public administration, intergovernmental relations and the history of political science. He did much to shape teaching and research in these fields not only at his own university, but throughout the country.

View the list of 2013 APSA Awardees

List of All William Anderson Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations was January 15, 2014.

2014 Award Committee

Chair: Seth Masket
University of Denver
Political Science
469 Sturm Hall
2000 E. Asbury Avenue
Denver, CO  80208
[email protected]


Kenneth N. Bickers
University of Colorado
Political Science
Ketchum Hall 106
333 UCB
Boulder, CO  80309-0333
[email protected]


Eric Plutzer
Pennsylvania State University
Political Science
219 Pond Laboratory
University Park, PA  16802
[email protected]








donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the William Anderson Award are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement in political science.


minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus