Gabriel A. Almond Award

The Gabriel A. Almond prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the field of comparative politics. It carries a prize of $750.

The award was created in recognition of Gabriel Almond's contributions to the discipline, profession, and Association. He was a long time faculty member at Stanford University and former APSA President (1966). Almond's scholarly work contributed directly to the development of theory in comparative politics and brought together work on the developing areas and Western Europe that prevented splintering into an array of disparate areas studies.


View the list of 2014 APSA Awardees

List of All Gabriel A. Almond Award Recipients

Nomination Information

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2015.

2015 Award Committee

Chair: Leslie Anderson
University of Florida
234 Anderson
Gainesville, FL 32611-7325
[email protected]

Nick Ziegler
University of California, Berkeley
Barrows Hall, 210, MC 1950
Berkeley, CA 94720-1950
[email protected]

Hans Peter Schmitz
Syracuse University
Maxwell School of Citizenship
100 Eggers Hall
Syracuse, NY 13244
[email protected]


donate buttonGifts from members and friends to help fund awards like the Gabriel A. Almond Award are always appreciated and help APSA promote opportunity and achievement in political science.



minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus