Highlights & Special Programming Highlights & Special Programming 2006 Annual Meeting

Here are some of the highlights from the 2006 APSA Annual Meeting. 

Wednesday, August 30 2006 
  9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Professional Day
The pre-convention professional day featured a variety of pre-convention seminars, and short courses sponsored by Organized Sections and Related Groups.

Thursday, August 31 2006
   12:45 p.m. APSA Awards Ceremony
Recognizing excellence in the profession is one of the most important activities of the American Political Science Association. Hosted by the 2006 Program Committee Co-Chairs Judith Goldstein and Rick Valelly, the Awards Ceremony began with invitation-only luncheon for awardees and their guests at 12:00 p.m. The Awards Ceremony began at 12:45 p.m. and was open to all attendees. Sponsored by Polity.

12:30 p.m. First-time Attendees/International Attendees Coffee Break
This session provided an opportunity to meet APSA colleagues working in similar fields of interest and to interact with them in an informal setting.

4:15 p.m. Doing Intersectionality Research: Conceptual and Practical Issues
Sponsored by the following APSA Committees:

  • Status of Asian Pacific Americans in the Profession
  • Status of Blacks in the Profession
  • Status of Lesbians, Gays, Bisexuals, and the Transgendered in the Profession
  • Latino/as in the Profession
  • Women in the Profession

4:15 p.m. Plenary Roundtable: Thinking About Power
Nannerl O. Keohane (Princeton University), Steven Michael Lukes (New York University), Matthew A. Crenson (Johns Hopkins University), Jack H. Nagel (University of Pennsylvania), and Linda Faye Williams (University of Maryland)

4:15 p.m. Political Consequences of Racial and Ethnic Identity
Sponsored by Committee on the Status of Latino/as in the Profession (D-APSAL) and the Asian Pacific American Caucus.

6:00 p.m. Pi Sigma Alpha Guest Lecture: Governor Edward Rendell 

2006 Pi Sigma Alpha Guest Lecture
Edward Rendell
Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Edward Rendell
6:00 p.m. Pennsylvania Governor Edward Rendell will deliver the Pi Sigma Alpha Guest Lecture, entitled "Leadership."

6:30 p.m. APSA Networking Reception for Baccalaureate and Master's Level Institutions
For attendees from BA and MA institutions.

6:30 p.m. Graduate Student Happy Hour
Graduate students are invited to network with each other and meet informally with APSA President Ira Katznelson and other APSA Officers and Council.

8:00 p.m. 2006 Presidential Address: Ira Katznelson, Columbia University

2006 Presidential Address and
Opening Reception
Ira Katznelson, Columbia University
Ira Katznelson
8:00 p.m. APSA President Ira Katznelson of Columbia University delivered his Presidential Address, "At the Court of Chaos: Political Science in an Age of Perpetual Fear." 

9:00 p.m. Following the Presidential Address, all attendees enjoyed hor d'oeuvres and host bar with live entertainment.

9:00 p.m. Opening Reception
Following the Presidential Address, APSA hosted the 102nd APSA Annual Meeting Opening Reception.  All attendees were invited to enjoy an evening of food, drink, and live music! Sponsored by Cambridge University Press.

Friday, September 1 2006

12:00-2:00 p.m. Session 1: Getting Published in Political Science

12:00 p.m. Meet the Officer and Council Nominees
An opportunity to meet the 2006 Council and Officer nominees. .

12:00 p.m. Plenary Roundtable: The Clash of Cultures and American Hegemony
Francis Fukuyama (Johns Hopkins University), Samuel P. Huntington (Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies), and Benjamin R. Barber (University of Maryland, College Park), Stephen M. Walt (Harvard University) and James R. Kurth (Swarthmore College)

12:00-2:00 p.m. Workshop for Department Chairs - "Planning for Assessment; Accountibility Issues"
The 2006 Workshop for Political Science Department Chairs was dedicated to discussing assessment planning and accountability issues. The Departmental Services Committee brought together a panel of political scientists who are experts dealing with such issues. Pre-registration was required. Write to Departmental Services Program contact at [email protected] for details. 

2:00 p.m. Inequalities, Difference, and Politics in Developing Societies
Panel sponsored by the APSA Task Force on Difference and Inequality in a Developing World

2:00 p.m. Plenary Roundtable: The State of American Democracy: An Audit
Featuring Robert Kuttner (The American Prospect), Jacob S. Hacker (Yale University)
Walter R. Mebane (Cornell University) and Paul Pierson (University of California, Berkeley)

2:00 p.m. Plenary Roundtable: Rational Choice: Thirty Years Later
Featuring Barry R. Weingast, (Stanford University), Margaret Levi (University of Washington, Seattle), Terry M. Moe (Stanford University), Ian Shapiro (Yale University), and Kenneth A. Shepsle (Harvard University)

4:15 p.m. Plenary Session: Internationalizing the Undergraduate Curriculum across the Discipline
Featuring Christine Ingebritsen (University of Washington), Benjamin R. Barber (University of Maryland, College Park), Steven L. Lamy (University of Southern California), Deborah E. Ward, (Seton Hall University), Mark Cassell (Kent State University), Pamela Burke Martin (Coastal Carolina University), and Isis I. Leslie (The George Washington University)

4:15 p.m. Plenary Session: Making US Policy for a Nuclear South Asia: Off-Shore Balancing in Historical Perspective
Jaswant Singh (India-Parliament), Lloyd I. Rudolph (University of Chicago), Husain Haqqani (Boston University), Barnett R. Rubin (New York University) Matthew Rudolph (Cornell University) and Stephen M. Walt (Harvard University)

4:15 p.m. Plenary Roundtable: Political Power: Who Governs? Who Votes? Who Cares?
Robert A. Dahl (Yale University), Kathryn Pearson (University of Minnesota), Nelson W. Polsby (Institute of Governmental Studies), Steven J. Rosenstone (University of Minnesota), Paul M. Sniderman (Stanford University), and Raymond E. Wolfinger (University of California, Berkeley)

7:00 p.m. Reception Honoring Teaching
Everyone was invited to this reception honoring campus-wide teaching award recipients and the winner of the 2006 Rowman & Littlefield Award for innovative teaching. Sponsored by Pi Sigma Alpha and Rowman & Littlefield.

10:00 p.m. Nightcap Receptions

Saturday, September 2 2006 

12:00-2:00 p.m. Session 2: Getting Published in Political Science

12:00 p.m. Plenary Session: Religion and Politics
Robert George Princeton, William A. Galston (The Brookings Institution), Jean Bethke Elshtain (University of Chicago), and
John DiIulio (University Of Pennsylvania)

2:00 p.m. The Political Significance of Brokeback Mountain, Capote, and TransAmerica
Sponsored by APSA Committee on the Status of Lesbians, Gays, Bisexuals, and the Transgendered in the Profession (D-APSAG)

6:15 p.m. APSA Annual Business Meeting
This was a good chance to participate in APSA governance and witness the leadership transition from President Ira Katznelson to President-Elect Robert Axelrod.  For more about the agenda and rules of the meeting click here.

8:30 p.m. New Political Science Plenary: The Honorable John Conyers

New Political Science Plenary
the Honorable John Conyers (D-Michigan)
John Conyers
8:30 p.m.The Honorable John Conyers  (Recipient: 'Lifetime Achievement Award for Public Service') was the keynote speaker for the New Political Science Plenary.

Click here for information on the current Annual Meeting

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus