Follow Us

Attend the Teaching & Learning Conference

Join APSA for the opportunity to learn and explore the best innovative strategies for teaching political science in the digital age. Expect to attend scholarly workshops and panels, and discuss best practices for engaging and training students in the political science classroom. For more information about the TLC Conference, click here


Support #GiveAPSA14

Be part of the excitement and #GiveAPSA14! 
"creating opportunities for excellence in political science" 

Congressional Fellowship Program

CFP group at the CapitolFounded in 1953, the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program is the nation's oldest and most prestigious congressional fellowship. More than fifty years later, the program remains devoted to its original objective of expanding knowledge and awareness of Congress.

For nine months, select political scientists, journalists, doctors, federal executives and international scholars gain a "hands on" understanding of the legislative process through a comprehensive orientation and by serving on congressional staffs. Through this unique opportunity, the Association enhances public understanding of policy-making and improves the quality of scholarship, teaching and reporting on American national politics.

We are happy to announce that the 2015-2016 fellowship will include a new stipend rate!  For more information, see the application forms at How to Apply.

  • How to ApplyCall for 2015-16 Applications For Federal Executives NOW OPEN
  • History of the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program
  • The Fellowship Experience
  • Articles About the Program

For the most recent updates on the Program, read the 2014 CFP Newsletter (October 2014)!

Other Resources:
Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee 

Support the Congressional Fellowship Program

The Congressional Fellowship is supported by the generosity of Congressional Quarterly, the German Marshall Fund of the United States, the American Australian Association, the State Department Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon, the William E. Steiger trust, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, MCI, and the contributions of former fellows.

Donate today to the Congressional Fellowship Annual Fund!