Skip to Content

Academic and Professional Development Committees

Committee on Departmental Services

The Committee on Departmental Services advises on publications and other services for members of the association's departmental services program. Learn more about departmental services at APSA here.

Committee Members: 

Term expiring August 31, 2018

  • Thomas Keck, Syracuse University
  • George Lovell, University of Washington

Term expiring August 31, 2019

  • Holley Tankersley, Coastal Carolina University, Chair
  • Robert Pahre, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Term expiring August 31, 2020

  • Amy Fried, University of Maine
  • Katherine Tegtmeyer Pak, St. Olaf College

More Information
For more information about the work of the Departmental Services Committee, email [email protected].

Committee on Teaching and Learning

The committee on teaching and learning develops and promotes activities within APSA and the political science community regarding political science and the practices and policies of higher education, including undergraduate, graduate, professional and life-long education. Learn more about the teaching and learning program here

Committee Members:

Term expiring August 31, 2018

  • Lee Trepanier, Saginaw Valley State University
  • Alison McCartney, Towson University

Term expiring August 31, 2019

  • Thomas Ellington, Wesleyan College
  • Elizabeth Smith, Furman University

APSA Ad Hoc Working Group on Assessment

  • Lawrence Baum, The Ohio State University
  • Michelle Deardorff, Jackson State University
  • Lynne Ford, College of Charleston
  • John Ishiyama, University of North Texas
  • Joseph P. McCormick II, Penn State University,York
  • Candace Young, Truman State University, Chair

Read the publication: Assessment in Political Science.

Teaching and Learning Conference Program Committee

The program committee for the Conference on Teaching and Learning in Political Science sets the themes for the meeting and oversees the formation of the conference tracks.

Committee Members:

  • Elizabeth Matto, Rutgers University, Co-Chair
  • Lee Trepanier, Saginaw Valley State University, Co-Chair
  • Maureen Feeley, University of California, San Diego
  • Terry Gilmour, Midland College
  • William Jennings, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Learn more about the Teaching & Learning Annual Conference

Committee on Civic Education & Engagement

The APSA Committee on Civic Education and Engagement focuses on the contributions that higher education, and political sciences in higher education institutions, are making or could make to enhancing the quantity and quality of civic engagement among young Americans. 

Learn more about civic education and engagement resources at APSA here

Committee Members:

Term expiring August 31, 2016

  • Kristin Goss, Duke University, Chair
  • Brian M. Harward, Allegheny College

Term expiring August 31, 2017

  • Walter Wilson, University of Texas, San Antonio
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up